Quick Access

General Information

This workshop will be the eleventh meeting of scientists in surface science and nanoscience from Brazil and Germany stimulated by the successful previous editions of the Brazilian-German Workshops on Applied Surface Science.

The main topics addressed at this workshop deal with fundamental problems (theory and experiment) in surface science and nanoscience and corresponding applications. Particular emphasis is given to nanostructured materials, thin films, polymers, devices, and catalysis, all of which seem to be an active area in both countries and represent promising future perspectives.

We sincerely hope many colleagues and students from Brazil and Germany will participate in this workshop and take advantage of the optimal conditions for discussions and personal contacts.




Tropical Executive Hotel

Av. Coronel Teixeira, 1320, Ponta Negra, Manaus, AM 69037-000, Brasil


Important Dates

From the incoming abstracts for the poster session 15 contributions will be selected for a 20+5 min oral contribution. Please indicate if you would like to be considered for an oral presentation.

Registration and Abstract Submission

Organizing Committee

Prof. Dr. Carlos César Bof Bufon

MackGraphe - Instituto Presbiteriano Mackenzie, São Paulo.


Prof. Dr. André Avelino Pasa

Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina, Florianópolis

Prof. Dr. Waldemar Macedo

CDTN - Centro de Desenvolvimento da Tecnologia Nuclear, Belo Horizonte.

Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Steinrück

Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Erlangen

Prof. Dr. Christof Wöll

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe

Prof. Dr. Katharina Al-Shamery

Institute of Chemistry, School of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Carl von Ossietzky University, Oldenburg

Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Freund

Department of Chemical Physics, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Berlin

Local Organizing Committee

Prof. Dr. Sérgio Humberto Domingues

MackGraphe - Instituto Presbiteriano Mackenzie, São Paulo.


Prof. Dr. Lizandro Manzato

Instituto Federal do Amazonas, Manaus

Ms. Débora Mitie Morita

MackGraphe - Instituto Presbiteriano Mackenzie, São Paulo.

Invited Speakers

Prof. Dr. Abner de Siervo,

University of Campinas (UNICAMP), Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Felipe Crasto de Lima,

Ilum - Brazilian Center for Research in Energy and Materials (CNPEM), Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Aldo José Gorgatti Zarbin,

Federal University of Paraná (UFPR), Curitiba, Paraná, Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Antonio Azevedo,

Federal University of Pernambuco (UFPE), Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Antonio Gomes de Souza Filho,

Federal University of Ceará (UFC), Fortaleza, Ceará, Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Carlos Frederico de Oliveira Graeff,

São Paulo State University (UNESP), Bauru, São Paulo, Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Cauê Ribeiro,

Brazilian Agricultural Research Corporation (EMBRAPA), São Carlos, São Paulo, Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Daniel Ugarte,

University of Campinas (UNICAMP), Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Flávio L. de Souza,

Brazilian Nanotechnology National Laboratory (LNNano), Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Luiz Gustavo Cançado,

Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG), Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Narcizo de Souza Neto,

Brazilian Synchrotron Light Laboratory (LNLS)-CNPEM, Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Ubirajara Pereira Rodrigues-Filho,

University of São Paulo (USP), São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Axel Groß,

Institut für Theoretische Chemie, Universität Ulm, Deutschland, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Barbara Lechner,

Fakultät für Chemie, Technische Universität München, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Christof Wöll

Institut für Funktionelle Grenzflächen, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Freund,

Fritz-Haber-Institut, Berlin, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Steinrück,

Universität Erlangen, Erlangen, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Jörg Libuda

Department für Chemie und Pharmazie, Universität Erlangen, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Katharina Al-Shamery,

Institut für Chemie, Universität Oldenburg, Oldenburg, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Martin Sterrer,

Institut für Physik, Universität Graz, Österreich, Austria.

Prof. Dr. Petra Tegeder,

Universität Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Sabine Maier,

Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Erlangen, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Swetlana Schauermann,

Institut für Physikalische Chemie, Universität Kiel, Kiel, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Heine,

Theoretical Chemistry, Universität Dresden, Dresden, Germany.

Program and Abstracts


The program can be found as PDF here: 11 BGW Program



The abstract book can be found as PDF here: 11 BGW - Abstracts Book



Tel. +55 (11) 2766-7270



Previous Workshops

Brazilian-German Workshop I in Portobello, Brazil, 3. - 7. April 1995


German-Brazilian Workshop II in Döllnsee-Berlin, Germany, 21. – 25. September 1998

Brazilian-German Workshop III in Florianapolis, Brazil, 5. - 9.März 2001

German-Brazilian Workshop IV in Schloß Ringberg, Germany, 21. – 26. September 2003

Brazilian-German Workshop V in Mangaratiba, Brazil, 3. – 9. April 2006

German-Brazilian Workshop VI in Titisee, Germany, 14. – 19. September, 2008

Brazilian-German Workshop VII in Buzios, Brazil, 3. – 8. April 2011

German-Brazilian Workshop VIII in Bamberg, Germany, 15. – 20. September 2013

Brazilian-German Workshop IX in Maresias, Brazil, 11. – 14. April 2016

German-Brazilian Workshop X in Bad Dürkheim, Germany, 23. – 28. September 2018